Match Reports‎ > ‎

Footballers come up short

posted 20 Feb 2014, 06:14 by Tom Duggan
Report by John Dunphy P.R.O.

Senior Football League Round Three Sat. 8th Feb 2014

Conahy Shamrocks 3-7  Mullinavat 1-4

Mullinavat took on Conahy Shamrocks in the final league game at a wet and windy Cohahy on Saturday last. Following two wins from the previous rounds Mullinavat stood at the top of the table while Conahy required a victory to keep them in the hunt for league honours. The gale force wind was largely cross field but provided what little benefit it had to Conahy in the first half. Conahy opened with two points before Mullinavat registered their first point from Paddy Raftice after 15 minutes. Conahy then created a goal scoring chance when a good shot was well saved by Killian Dunphy but Conahy attackers were on hand to finish the rebound to the net. Mullinavat were awarded a free following good play in the attack and Paddy Raftice’s shot dipped underneath the cross bar to bring Mullinavat into the tie. In the closing minute of the half a Cohahy goal chance was well defended and the resultant 45 was floated into the Mullinavat goal area. A Conahy attacker got his fist to the ball which came back off the cross bar and the rebound was neatly despatched by an alert Conahy attack leaving the half time score Conahy 2-4 Mullinavat 1-1. 

The expected fight back by Mullinavat when aided by the breeze in the second half did not materialize as Conahy were determined to be involved in the latter stages of the league. They added a point from a free and then a deflected shot beat the Mullinavat defence for a third goal. The introduction of Ger Malone and Mark Mansfield to the Mullinavat attack added impetus where Ger Malone and Paddy Raftice twice found the target but it was not sufficient in the end. Conahy Shamrocks held on for a deserved 3-7 to 1-4 victory.

Team: Killian Dunphy, Ryan Bland, Seamus Farrell, Darren Kenneally, Robbie Malone, Simon Aylward, Brian Kenneally, Thomas Aylward, James Culleton, Paddy Raftice, Ger Anthony, Conor Duggan, Stephen Duggan, Tony Duggan, Kevin Laherty Subs: Mark Mansfield, Ger Malone