Match Reports‎ > ‎

Under 21's bow out of the championship

posted 17 Dec 2014, 15:00 by Tom Duggan
Thomastown 1-9 Mullinavat 1-8
Mullinavat under 21 hurlers lost out to Thomastown by the narrowest margin in a tense battle in Ballyhale on Sunday. Mullinavat can have no complaints with the result as they had plenty of chances during the second half but just could not get the score they needed. Michael Donnelly got Thomastown off the mark with a point after 3 minutes. He added 3 more before Mullinavat raised a white flag through John Walsh. John Donnelly replied for Thomastown. Mullinavat had a point from John Walsh . John then collected a Thomastown puckout and set off on a run towards the Thomastown goal. He found Pat Mulhearn who made no mistake to level the game 1-2 to 0-5. Mullinavat were being punished for their indiscipline and had a number of frees brought forward for dissent. John Donnelly was making them pay dearly and by half time the score was Mullinavat  1-6 Thomastown 0-8.
Robbir Donnelly levelled the game in the 2nd minute and Thomastown were in front a minute later. Michael Donnelly found Gary Lehane and his pass found Adrian Burke who finished to the net. Remarkably this would be Thomastown's final score. It was to be the vital score however. Mullinavat threw everything at the Thomastown defence over the next 28 minutes but could only add 2 points to their tally. Adam Mansfield finished off some great grafting from the 'Vat players in the 8th minute to shoot a point. 15 minutes would pass before the next score, a point form a '65 from Simon Aylward. Mullinavat continued to press forward but their  valiant efforts went unrewarded and Thomastown hung on grimly for a narrow but deserving victory.
Thomastown: Darragh McGarry, Jay Burke, Barry Whelan, Ciarán O'Meara, John Barron, Robert O' Hanrahan, Craig Butler, Michael Donnelly (0-4, 0-1 free), Eoin Manning, John Donnelly (0-3), Gary Lehane, Robbie Donnelly, (0-2 , 0-1 free), Danny Monks, Adrian Burke (1-0), Jamie Lanigan.
Sub: Dylan Caulfield.
Mullinavat: Conor Frisby, Michael Jones, Tom Aylward, Nathan Malone, Brian Phelan, Simon Aylward (0-2, 0-1 free, 0-1 '65), Robbie Malone, Mark Mansfield (0-1), Conor Duggan, Darren Waters, Pat Mulhearn (1-0), John Walsh (0-4, 0-3 frees) Adam Mansfield(0-1), Liam Fennelly, Killian Dunphy.
Subs: Ryan Bland, Daniel Walsh, Damien Aylward.
Referee: Julian Dwyer